Taekwondo is a version of an ancient form of unarmed combat practised for many centuries in the Orient. Taekwondo became perfected in it’s present form in South Korea.

To the Korean people Taekwondo is more than a mere use of skilled movements. It also implies a way of thinking and life, particularly in installing a concept and spirit of strict self-imposed discipline and an ideal of moral re-armament.

In these days of violence and troubles Taekwondo allows the weak to possess skills to defend themselves. When wrongly applied Taekwondo can be a dangerous weapon.

Taekwondo was inaugurated in South Korea on 11th April 1955, following extensive research and development by the founder Major General Choi Hong Hi, 9th Degree Black Belt (1918-2002)

Taekwondo was introduced into the United Kingdom in 1967.


TKD LettersTae = To jump, kick or smash with the foot.
Kwon = To punch or destroy with the hand.
Do = Art or Way of Life.

Taekwondo indicates the technique of unarmed combat for self defence, involving the skilled application of punches, kicks, blocks, dodges and interception with the hands, arms and feet to the rapid destruction of the opponent.


tkd-tenetsThere are five Tenets in Taekwondo. A Tenet is a principle on which a belief or theory is based.
Courtesy:- To be polite to everyone. You must always be courteous to your instructors, seniors and fellow students.
Integrity:- To be honest with yourself. You must be able to define the difference between right and wrong.
Perseverance:- To achieve a goal. Whether a higher grade or a new technique, you should never stop trying.
Self Control:- To always be in control of your actions. You must be able to live, work and train within your capabilities.
Indomitable Spirit:- To show courage when you and your principles are pitted against overwhelming odds. You should do your utmost to never give up.

If you were to choose a sixth Tenet, what would it be?


There are six colours of belts in Taekwondo each one having its own attached meaning.
White:- Signifies innocence, as that of the beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Taekwondo.
Yellow:- Signifies earth, from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the Taekwondo foundation is being laid.
Green:- Signifies the plant’s growth, as Taekwondo skills begin to develop.
Blue:- Signifies heaven, toward which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Taekwondo progresses.
Red:- Signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.
Black:- Opposite to white, therefore signifying maturity and proficiency in Taekwondo. Also indicates the wearer’s imperviousness to darkness and fear.