What is a pattern?
A pattern is a set of fundamental movements, mainly defence and attack, set in a logical sequence to deal with one or more imaginary opponents. Patterns are an indication of a student’s progress, a barometer in evaluating an individual’s technique.

There are 24 patterns in Taekwondo which is symbolic of the 24 hours in a day.  Major General Choi Hong Hi is quoted as saying “Here I leave Taekwondo for mankind as a trace of a man of the late 20th Century. The 24 patterns represent 24 hours, one day or all of my life.”


The Patterns

Coloured Belt Patterns

1. Chon-Ji

2. Dan-Gun

3. Do-San

4. Won-Hyo

5. Yul-Gok

6. Joong-Gun

7. Toi-Gye

8. Hwa-Rang

9. Choong-Moo

Black Belt Patterns

10. Ge-Baek

11. Kwang-Gae

12. Po-Eun

13. Choong-Jung

14. Eui-Am

15. Ko-Dang




19. Se-Jong

20. Tong-Il

21. Ul-Ji

22. Moon-Moo

23. So-San

24. Yong-Gae